Page 1 of 2 12 Last>>

Thread: Opening a store online

Opening a store online

I am new at this whole ecommerce thing and I want to start building a store online. I have no idea where to start or which companies to go with. Is there something easy to understand? I don’t have the biggest knowledge in programming or anything either. I’ve seen people talking about magento and volusion, but what about other ones like 3d cart or lead commerce? What do you guys use? thanks!

This has been asked and answered many times in the forum. Try searching.

I have gone through the forum and seen a lot of feedback on magento and volusion. But I was more curious about lesser known companies such a lead commerce, core commerce, or ajshoppingcart. I want to go over my options before diving right in.

Thanks

Hi Jackie,

But why are you curious about lesser known options when you've recognized and established options like Magento and volusion at hand?

I think you must develop a customized PHP based store with order tracking feature.
    Accounting section can also be attached with this. Rest depends upon your sales volume and stock nature also.

Hello JackieRand!

If you don't have any programming knowledge and a beginner in ecommerce, Magento may seem too complex to you. If you are going to start small business you'd better to choose something more simple, i would recommend free CS-Cart Community. Also as far as i've noticed many people also use Zen Cart or Prestashop.

Thanks for your input you guys!
    I've looked at Magento and gone through their demo and it does seem a bit complicated. I've even tried to walk through their video tutorials, but I think I was even more confused after I finished with it.

I have yet to try out Zen Cart or Cs-Cart, but I will soon.

Does anyone know if these companies, or any other companies have good tutorials to follow?